Records available

CD canto:). Hortus Musicus

DVD In the Mystical Land of Kaydara. Peeter Vähi

DVD Coppélia. A ballet by Léo Delibes

CD-series Great Maestros. Beethoven, Brahms. Kalle Randalu, Estonian National Symphony Orchestra, Neeme Järvi

CD Quarter of a Century with Friends. Arsis, Rémi Boucher, Oliver Kuusik, Rauno Elp

Super Audio CD Maria Magdalena. Sevara Nazarkhan, Riga Dom Cathedral Boys Choir, State Choir Latvija, Latvian National Symphony Orchestra

CD Jerusalem. Hortus Musicus

LP Contra aut pro? Toomas Velmet, Neeme Järvi, Estonian National Symphony Orchestra, Arvo Pärt

CD The Soul of Fire. Age Juurikas


Age Juurikas, piano
de Falla, Albéniz, Stravinsky

Estonian Music Awards 2019 − the best record of the year in the category of chamber music!


Manuel de Falla Piano suite from the ballet “El amor brujo” 19:54
1 Pantomime
2 The Dance of Terror. The Magic Circle
3 Midnight
4 Ritual Fire Dance
5 Scene and Song of the Will-o’-the-Wisp
6 Dance of the Game of Love
7 Isaac Albéniz La Vega 14:50
Igor Stravinsky / Guido Agosti / Age Juurikas Transcription from the ballet “L’Oiseau de feu” 26:42
8 Sudden Appearance of Prince Ivan
9 Round Dance of the Princesses
10 Dawn
11 Magic Carillon, Appearance of Kaschei’s Monster Guardians, and Capture of Prince Ivan
12 Arrival of Kaschei the Immortal, Dialogue of Kaschei and Prince Ivan and Intercession of the Princesses
13 Appearance of Firebird
14 Dance of Kaschei’ Retinue, Enchanted by the Firebird
15 Infernal Dance of All Kaschei’s Subjects
16 Lullaby
17 Kaschei’s Awakening, the destruction of the Magic Egg Containing His Soul and Kaschei’s death
18 Profound Darkness
19 Disappearance of Kaschei’s Palace and Magical Creations, return to Life of the Petrified Knights, General Rejoicing
20 Frederico Mompou Encore: Pájaro triste 2:12

player Manuel de Falla, Piano suite from the ballet El amor brujo, fragment, 3 min 26 sec, mp3, 320 Kbps
player Igor Stravinsky, Transcription from the ballet Firebird, fragment, 3 min 41 sec, mp3, 320 Kbps

AgeJuurikas PianoPedalsRecorded live in the Tubin Hall, Tartu on Oct 19th, 2017
Instrument: Steinway & Sons D-274 tuned by Andres Leesik
Recording engineer: Tanel Klesment
Edited by Siim Hiob
Mastered by Kaspar Karner
Liner notes by Age Juurikas and Kaisa Luik
Photos by Sadu Triste Juurikas
Design by Mart Kivisild
Co-produced by Randy Peiker
Produced by Peeter Vähi

Total time 63:41
ERP 10218
© Age Juurikas, Estonian Record Productions (Tallinn)

AgeJuurikas420The Soul of Fire will be my first album that will be released in this year. Fire is the main theme for several reasons. To begin with, this album contains three pieces, where fire takes on different forms. In Manuel de Falla′s piano suite El amor brujo after the ballett of the same name, fire is spellbounding and sacred. In La Vega by Isaac Albéniz, fire is as if under the ashes, symbolizing also the fiery soul of a gypsy. In the transcription of Igor Stravinsky′s ballet L’oiseau de feu the fabulous Firebird has taken the fiery image. Secondly, since I was a child, I have been described as a spark of fire. Finally, I am a Sagittarius − a sign which is a part of the Fire Trigon.
I wish that my first album would be “alive” and that is why I prefer live recordings to the ones that are made in the studio. I am happy and thankful that I have the opportunity to record this album at the Tubin Hall in Tartu, because this hall is at the moment the most suited place for it in Estonia − a wonderful auditorium, great acoustics and a good Steinway piano! I am also glad that I can collaborate with the highly esteemed sound director Tanel Klesment and piano tuner Andres Leesik during this project. My special thanks belong to Estonian Record Productions, who help to make the dream of the album a reality.

Age Juurikas

  • unites in her interpretation the best traditions of German and Russian piano schools
  • started her musical education at Tallinn Music High School at the age of 4
  • has studied 5 years at Moscow Tchaikovsky Conservatory with Vera Gornostayeva − one of the former students of the legendary Heinrich Neuhaus
  • especially interested in less-performed works of great masters, and in new music
  • has participated in several large-scale new music projects such as Stockhausen’s Mantra, Grisey’s Vortex temporum...
  • has won several top prizes at international piano competitions
  • is regularly giving solo recitals, performing as a chamber musician and soloist with symphony orchestras
  • has worked with prominent conductors like Neeme Järvi, Kaspars Putniņš, Risto Joost...
  • regularly gives piano masterclasses
  • has recorded numerous hours of music for the archive of the Estonian Public Broadcasting
  • currently teaching piano at the Estonian Academy of Music and Theatre

AgeJuurikas TubinHall924

Press resonance

LogoISMusicTeam      LogoSorainen

Distribution in Estonia by Easy-Living Music ( This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. )
Worldwide distribution by Europe RCD ( This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. ; www.russiancdshop.com)

Special thanks: Matti Reimann, Kadri Leivategija, Raivo Sersant, Kadri Kiis, Heino Eller Tartu Music College, Klassikaraadio, Estonian Cultural Endowment, Kristel Pappel

See also other piano recordings by ERP: Keyboard Juggleress, Enter DenterEstonian Preludes, Northern Lights Sonata, The Well-tempered Clavier I, Sergei Rahmaninov. Piano Works, Toivo Nahkur, Neeme Järvi, Deus Ex Clavier, Marginalia, Great Maestros Vol I−V, Great Maestros Vol VI, Aleksandra Juozapénaité-Eesmaa, Heino Eller, Magic of Sound, Melancholy, Resurrection of Mozart, Waltzing Mephisto by the Danube, Wiegenlieder der Schmerzen, Von Salzburg bis Reval